General Information

Socorro County is one of 33 counties in the State of New Mexico, was established in 1852 and encompasses approximately 6,646 square miles. Socorro County was originally created in 1844 by the Republic of Mexico and designated in 1850 by the territorial government of what was to become New Mexico. The county was named for the County seat located in Socorro, New Mexico. The 2010 Census estimates our population at 17,866. We share our borders with Sierra, Valencia, Torrence, Cibola, Catron and Lincoln Counties. Socorro County ranges in elevation from approximately 4,528 ft. on the banks of the Rio Grande to 10,784 ft. at the top of South Baldy Peak in the Magdalena Mountains. Socorro is home to several mountain ranges and sky islands.

Socorro was the name conferred by Don Juan de Onate upon a Pueblo north of the present town of Socorro, the County seat. In the summer of 1598, a group of Native Americans presented him and his troops with corn, which is why he chose the name "succor" or "help". Once the largest city in New Mexico because of silver  strikes nearby. Today, Socorro County is home to New Mexico Institute of Mining & Technology, the National Radio Astronomy's Very Large Array, the Magdalena Ridge Observatory, Bosque del Apache and Sevilleta Wildlife refuges, and White Sands Missile Range. The world's first atomic bomb was exploded in the southeast corner of the County on July 16, 1945. The County also has considerable cattle ranching. As a matter of fact, the Board of County Commissioners has even adopted the "Code of the West," which can be found on our Resolutions page. The courthouse, built by New Deal funding in 1940, is a Spanish-pueblo architectural style and replaced an earlier public building on the same site. For more on Socorro County's history, visit our History page.
Socorro County's general mailing address is PO Box I, Socorro NM 87801.

You may access map links to County offices or: 
Click on the Faucet for 25 Ways to Conserve Water
The Courthouse is located at 200 Church Street
The Road Department Building is located at 2409 NM Hwy 1 in Socorro
The County Annex Building is located at 198 Neel Avenue in Socorro
An overview of public notices, ordinances and resolutions is listed below.

To review the Board of County Commissioners agendas and minutes, please visit the Socorro County Sunshine Site

Any information contained on this website is applicable only to unincorporated areas of Socorro County.

If you are a vendor interested in submitting a bid, please visit our bid and procurement page.