Board of County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners sets policy for the governance of Socorro County, appoints the County Manager and is responsible for all fiscal management of Socorro County operations. Each Commissioner represents and is elected by district.

The Socorro County Board of Commissioners regularly meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 9 a.m. at the Socorro County Annex Building located at 198 Neel Avenue, Socorro NM. 

All constituents and organizations are welcome to address the Board during the public comment portion at the start of each meeting. For items that require Board action or for a longer discussion, requestors must complete an Agenda Request form, found on the Manager's Forms page. Following a review of the request, only the County Manager or a Commissioner may place an item on the agenda.

For copies of board meeting packets and minutes, please visit the Socorro County Sunshine Site.

All Commissioners can be contacted at the office of the Manager at 575.835.0589 or PO Box I, Socorro NM 87801.

District 1
Phone: 575-835-0589 x1111

Voting Precincts 3, 8, 10, 17
Currently serving first term through 2022

District 2
Phone: 575-835-0589 x1112
Cell Phone: 505.550.2722

Commissioner Martha Salas,
Voting Precincts 16, 24, 27
Currently serving first term through 2020

Commissioner Salas is the Chair of the Socorro County Commission.  She is also the Chair of the New Mexico Association of Counties County Commission Affiliate and was formerly the Secretary Treasurer of the Affiliate. She and her husband, General Andrew E. Salas, have been married 35 years and have 5 children and 3 grandchildren.  They are both life-long residents of Socorro County.

 She last served as a Level 3 teacher at La Promesa Elementary School in the Belen Consolidated School District in Northern Socorro County.  Prior to that she home-schooled her five children.   

Military Service

  • 11 year veteran of the New Mexico Air National Guard
  • Named Top Performer for the Air Guard's operational readiness inspection
  • Area Chair for the NM Committee for Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve
  • Treasurer of the Enlisted Association, Spouse's Auxiliary
  • Family Programs Volunteer 

Leadership Positions & Community Support

  • New Mexico Association of Counties Advisory Committee
  • South Central Council of Governments Representative for County
  • Socorro County Substance Abuse Prevention Committee
  • DWI Planning Council for Socorro County
  • Socorro County Coordinated Community Response Committee
  • Board Member, Literacy Volunteers of Socorro County
  • Alamo Chapter Resource Committee
  • Member of Socorro County Committee of Fire Department Chiefs
  • Belen Schools Grade Level Committee Chair
  • Belen School District Curriculum Committee
  • Valencia County 4-H Leader
  • Valencia County 4-H Pellet Coach


  • 1980 graduate of Belen High School
  • Bachelor of Science degree in Business Management with Accounting emphasis - University of Phoenix
  • Master of Arts Degree in Education with Reading emphasis - College of Santa  Fe

NMSU/NMEDGE Certifications (Education Designed to Generate Excellence in the Public Sector)

  • NM Certified County Commissioner
  • NM Certified Public Official
  • NM Certified Advocate in Public Ethics

District 3
Phone: 575.835.0589 x1113
  Cell: 575-418-0234

Commissioner Manuel Anaya,
Vice Chairman
Voting Precincts 1, 2, 6, 7, 9
Currently serving second term through 2022

District 4
Phone: 575.835.0589 x1114
Cell: 505-385-4029

Vice Chair Glen Duggins,
Voting Precincts 12, 18, 16, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 25
Currently serving first term through 2020

Commission Duggins is a life-long resident of Socorro County and a farmer for 30 years. He raises alfalfa, corn, wheat and chile on a 600-acre farm in Lemitar. He has an associate’s degree in agriculture from New Mexico State University and serves on the Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District Board.

District 5
Phone: 575.835.0589 x1115
Cell: 575-418-7261

Commissioner Ray Martinez,
Voting Precinct 4, 5, 11, 13, 14
Currently serving first term through 2020