Administration‎ > ‎Public Works‎ > ‎

Land Use Commission

The Socorro County Land Use Commission is comprised of board members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. The Board of Land Use Commission meets every third Wednesday of the month at 5:00 PM at the Socorro County Annex Building located at 198 Neel Avenue in Socorro.
The Board of Land Use Commissioners is peforms a quasi-judicial function answering the question: has the developer demonstrated that he has met his obligations to the public under the law in order to exercise his/her right to subdivide his/her private property? The Commission must:
  1. Determine if the subdivision conforms with County Subdivision Regulations- Socorro County Ordinance 97-006. 
  2. Determine if the sub-divider has demonstrated the ability to fulfill the proposals contained in the subdivision’s disclosure statement, plat, and/or any other required components of the subdivision plain.
  3. Recommend approval, disapproval or conditional approval to the Socorro County Commission based on your analysis of the subdivision documents and the developer’s abilities.
To review the County's Subdivision Ordinance, please visit the Ordinance Page and download Ordinance #1997.006.

Subdivision Exemption Application
If you feel you may qualify for a subdivision exemption when dividing property, please obtain an exemption application form on from the Manager's Forms Page.

Land Use Commissioners

Holm Bursum IV, Secretary          MEMBER TO A TERM TILL DECEMBER 31, 2013

Nick Keller, Chair,                       MEMBER TO A TERM TILL DECEMBER 31, 2013

Butch Hammack, Vice Chair        MEMBER TO A TERM TILL DECEMBER 31, 2013

Keith Banks,                              MEMBER TO A TERM TILL DECEMBER 31, 2013

Barbara Spreen-Atwood              MEMBER TO A TERM TILL DECEMBER 31, 2013

 Important Links

For more information regarding Land Use in Socorro County, please visit our Ordinance page.
Michael A. Hawkes,
May 25, 2018, 10:55 AM
Michael A. Hawkes,
Oct 22, 2013, 2:12 PM